Roger Ebert on missing the CWA

The Conference has been a central part of my life for more than 40 years, and I will miss it terribly. Having lost the gift of speech, I can no longer participate in the ways that gave me such pleasure. The Cinema Interruptus sessions, so named by Howard Higman, taught me much more than I ever taught them.

I am leaving on a high point after bringing together Werner Herzog and Ramin Bahrani last year. Jim Emerson will carry on, and the audience as always will not let a frame pass unnoticed. Forty weeks is ten months, and that’s how long I lived in Boulder. I met so many good people and have so many good memories. Give my regards to Macky and to Daddy Bruce’s. And don’t be surprised if I turn up one year for the concert. I like that outboard aisle seat on the left, about six rows back…

-Roger Ebert

  1. ellen
    February 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm | #1

    We will feel your presence, always!

  2. JR Tufo
    February 10, 2011 at 12:47 pm | #2

    Last year was my first WAC, and I’m so glad that I attended Cinema Interruptus. RE is an inspiration.

  3. February 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm | #3

    Miss you already, Rodge.

  4. deb
    February 10, 2011 at 11:56 pm | #4

    The heart-to-heart sharing will just stretch, that all – oh, and you’ll probably be more comfy. Love to you both…

  5. February 11, 2011 at 4:26 pm | #5

    You will be sorely missed sir. Come on a whim, you can have my seat anytime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

